Copa del Rey Champions

Real Sociedad were crowned champions of the Copa del Rey 2020 after beating Athletic Club in the final played in Seville. We have won our first Copa del Rey since 1987. Played 13 months later than initially scheduled, in a pandemic and without the fans in the stands, Seville saw La Real come out on top. This win is the joy of an entire generation that in 1987 was not aware of the milestone achieved at La Romareda. Tonight, all those people have been able to savour the sweet taste of success. April 3rd will remain marked in blue and white. It was the day la Real won a title. After years of suffering, joy and unfinished paths, we can finally shout it out loud: We are the champions! 

Moreover, it has not been an ordinary final. It has been a derby, with all that implies. The joy of winning a final is indescribable and there are no words to describe the feeling of winning vs Athletic Club. It was a very tough, intense match, in which Real picked up the win thanks to a goal by Oyarzabal.

Both sides played hit by nerves and none of them dominated possession. Little by little, la Real started to control the pace. However, Simón was not forced into necessary action. The lions had a good chance when Iñigo let fly from distance and saw Remiro tip over in spectacular fashion. Just before the break, Portu had a chance but we was unable to finish it. The score was 0-0 at the break.

After the restart, Iñigo tripped Portu and Estrada Fernández sent him off. However, following a VAR check, the red card was overturned. Oyarzabal was not forgiving and dispatched the spot kick to secure the victory. 

La Real suffered a bit from nerves. Still, they were doing things well. In the final minutes, Athletic played a little harder and with more intensity but to no avail. At last, the game ended with the most pleasant whistle of the last three decades.

We are the Copa del Rey champions. We’re happy, proud and excited. What a joy. We would have liked to share this victory with you in Seville, but we can feel your happiness and that makes us happy. Now, let’s celebrate this first title win in 34 years. Please celebrate safely and responsibly. Gora zuek, gora Real! Txapeldunak!

Match sheet:

Athletic Club: Unai Simón, De Marcos, Yeray, Iñigo, Yuri (Capa, min.93), Dani García (Vesga, min.76), Vencedor (Unai López, min.68), Muniain (cap), Berenguer (Villalibre, min.76), Raúl García y Williams.

Real Sociedad: Remiro, Gorosabel (Aritz, min.93), Zubeldia, Le Normand, Monreal, Zubimendi, Merino, Silva (Guevara, min.85), Portu (Barrenetxea, min.89), Oyarzabal (cap) e Isak (Carlos Fernández, min.89).

Goal: 0-1: Oyarzabal (pen), min.63.

Referee: Estrada Fernández. Booked Dani García and Iñigo for Athletic Club and Oyarzabal for Real Sociedad.

For registered users only!

This content is only available to users registered on our website.

Sign up by clicking on Log in and enjoy content that's exclusive to you.