Spanish Cup champions

In their early years, the team from San Sebastián got very good results in their friendly matches. However, they were not allowed to participate in official championships since the partnership was not registered in the civil registry. Consequently, they decided to take part in the 1909 Spanish Championship under the name of Club Ciclista, an organization which did meet the legal requirements.

With the name Club Ciclista, we won our first title. After beating Athletic Club y Fortuna, Real Sociedad lifted the trophy for the first time ever with a 3–1 victory over Espanyol de Madrid in the final. Our XI was: Bea, A. Sena, Arocena, Arrillaga, Echeverría, Rodríguez, M. Sena, Lacort, McGuinness, Simmons and Birebén. McGuinness scored a brace and Simmons scored one goal. 

For registered users only!

This content is only available to users registered on our website.

Sign up by clicking on Log in and enjoy content that's exclusive to you.